We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

How to deal with a bullying colleague?

Options

Comments

• SparklesJD
    Options
    I used to be a HR manager, although I've been out of the sector for a while, so this isn't based on anything more than my personal views. She sounds like she is bullying you, based on the fact that you are upset by her behaviour. You do not need to explain or apologise for being upset by her behaviour and you are not in any way responsible for her behaviour, although you can choose, as many people have said, how you respond to it.

The best tip I can give you (apologies if anyone's already suggested this, I had a quick read and didn't see it) is to keep a diary, if you're not already.

I'm not talking 'War and Peace', just the date, time, anyone else who was there/copied in and a line about what happened i.e. 'X critised my spelling of Y. She made me feel small.'

This is useful in a lot of ways. It can help reassure you that you're not imagining things. If you get to the stage where you have a meeting with your manager or her, you can give specific examples. It's difficult to argue that something's a one-off or that you took it the wrong way if you've got a few different incidents. The emotions bit is there because the feelings you experience at the time something happens can be difficult to articulate later.