When is the time right for a horse share?

Options
Hi all,

I've been riding for about 18 months and am starting to feel less challenged by my lessons. My aim was to look for a share eventually, and I'm wondering if I might be at that stage now. I'm good to walk, trot, canter. I've no interest in jumping or competing if I'm honest, just a happy hacker and the occasional schooling to make sure I don't fall into bad habits etc. I'm good with tacking up and general grooming as I do a bit of volunteering. Time-wise I work flexible hours so that's not an issue.

I feel there are a lot of factors telling me I'm ready but when I look online for shares, the majority of people are asking for sharers who aren't straight from a riding school and who aren't novice (I feel I'm still a novice because I've only ever ridden riding school horses). People also write about the quirks their horses have and needing a strong, confident rider because they're forward going on hacks, for example, or spook easily. This is where I think only riding horses from a riding school works against me, as they're supposed to be placid so as a rider, I haven't had much experience of more 'tricky' horses.

I would never want to jump in and share a horse which I'm not ready for, as it could be dangerous for both me and the horse and will ultimately be a negative experience, so how do you judge when the time is right? What more could I do to perhaps learn more about horses who may challenge me a bit more etc.
Save £3,000 emergency fund #79 - £1,805 as of 04/24

Comments

• orlao
    orlao Posts: 1,090 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    It's a difficult one from both sides.