Do you want to be able to choose your water company?

Options

Comments

• humdigadi
    Options
    I beg OFWAT to scritinise other similar markets to properly determine the (dis)benefits where the equivalent option has been implemented.

I work in the energy industry and that market, just because of the number of companies involved in unnecessarily complicated. Yes it needed to be privatised as it wasn't efficient but capacity markets and auctions etc are horrendously complicated. What does this mean? Well it means each company has employ a good number of people to manage it which doesn't help the bill payer at all.

The government directives think they are cutting down prices by increasing competion but the competition itseld costs money to manage. Suppliers have to jump through hoops and it doesn't really benefit anyone.

I ask one question: How many customers complain about the cost of their water supply against the number that complain about their gas/electricity?

The water companies are not perfect by any stretch but creating competition won't help. It will only work with a good regulatory framework. And it seems to work well now. And if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
  • barbara`
    Options
    In principle, Great! But what about companies with long coastlines to manage & drought areas to cope with like Anglian Water? Who would look after the reservoirs & dams if companies are trying to cut costs to save losing customers?
  • Steffhow
    Steffhow Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited 10 August 2016 at 2:02PM
    Options