VAT query

Options
I have setup a limited company and am registered for VAT.

I'm moving all my clients over from my sole-trader business to my Limited, it's the same line of business so they're all happy and prices remain same other than VAT.

I am still transitioning from sole-trader to limited so some invoices will be paid to my old business and others to my new one due to contracts, purchase orders etc...

I'm wondering what the deal is on a client I quoted last month (without VAT) through myself when I was a sole trader. They've come back now asking for the work to proceed, am I ok to run with this as the sole-trader business and not charge them VAT? They aren't VAT registered so would be taking quite a hit if I have to add it on.

Comments

• Suarez
    Suarez Posts: 970 Forumite
    Options

I'm moving all my clients over from my sole-trader business to my Limited, it's the same line of business so they're all happy and prices remain same other than VAT.

I am still transitioning from sole-trader to limited so some invoices will be paid to my old business and others to my new one due to contracts, purchase orders etc...

I'm wondering what the deal is on a client I quoted last month (without VAT) through myself when I was a sole trader. They've come back now asking for the work to proceed, am I ok to run with this as the sole-trader business and not charge them VAT? They aren't VAT registered so would be taking quite a hit if I have to add it on.

What was the reason for registering for VAT?
  • looknohands
    looknohands Posts: 390 Forumite
    Options
    Accountant mentioned something about using a lot of UK suppliers that charge VAT but having a lot of work for overseas businesses who we can't charge VAT out to. I think he said we'd have a surplus of VAT if that's a thing?
  • Pennywise
    Pennywise Posts: 13,468 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options