PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

Boiler finance when buying house

Hi. Newbie here hoping to get some advice. I'm a first time buyer - we're close to exchange but an issue has arisen whereby the vendor disclosed that a previous tenant acquired the boiler on a government scheme.

They said it was for free (and looking it up the scheme they mentioned certainly offered payment for a boiler free to low income households) but the solicitor wants to be sure we won't have any money to pay for it. With schemes such as green deal, it is the bill payer who is liable to pay for any finance even if they are not the same as the person who acquired it in the first place.

All we have been able to get from the seller is a letter from British Gas saying they have paid up an invoice in full but there's no mention of a boiler in the letter. The estate agent says that this is all the vendor is able to get from them and she has spent about 7 hours to their call centress to do so.