Fraudulant use of Motability car?

Options

Comments

• sarahswan1
    sarahswan1 Posts: 12 Forumite
    Options
    We've just got a Motability car, fitted with a wheelchair hoist, it's a huge help. It's also our only car, and my husband (who is the Motability client) is no longer able to drive. Before we got it, I was very careful to ring Motability to check that there was no problem with me using the car to go to work. They were quite happy, as I am the only wage earner so my income directly benefits him. They were also happy to insure the car for business use, and have a list of occupations they accept ( I work in the public sector). I don't consider I'm defrauding anyone, as I have full permission to use the car in the way I do. I also resent any suggestion that I just want a nice new car, as there is no way I would have been able to afford a car big enough for the hoist, or be able to afford the hoist without Motability
  • System
    System Posts: 178,097 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    What Motability are happy with and say you can do does not necessarily agree with what the law says you can and cannot do.

It is about time that Motability got their ducks in a row and gave advice based on the law and not their thoughts. If they believe that the law needs changing then they need to petition to get the law changed
  • Richie-from-the-Boro
    Options
    sarahswan1 wrote: »