Replace existing electric shower unit - DIY or hire someone?

We have an electric shower which since yesterday has developed a mind of its own. Sometimes it makes the water hot and others not so hot. I was reading online and it seems there might be a problem with the heating component which it says can be replaced. While I was looking online I checked the price and it seems I can buy a brand new shower, same model for around £60 so I think may be its better to replace the whole unit. The trouble is that I am a newbie at DIY and have never done anything like this before.

Should I have a go myself or try hiring a professional to do it? Any idea how much a plumber/electrician will charge to replace it?

Shower is Triton Cara 9.5K and I will be switching it with the same model to avoid positioning issues with power and water supply connectors. I moved into this place last year, don't know how old the shower unit is but I think the bathroom was done about a year before we moved in.
Marriage is hard. Divorce is hard. Choose your hard.
Obesity is hard. Being fit is hard. Choose your hard.
Being in debt is hard. Being financially disciplined is hard. Choose your hard.
Communication is hard. Not communicating is hard. Choose your hard.
Life will never be easy. It will always be hard. But you can choose your hard.

Comments

• Ebe_Scrooge
    Ebe_Scrooge Posts: 7,320 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Hmm, I don't really know how best to advise you here.