Paying For Main AND Sub Meter!

Options
Bambi89
Bambi89 Posts: 7 Forumite
First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
Hi everyone,

I'm in desperate need of some help and advice!

I've been renting a property now since April 2014.

The property was once part of 3 others - Main 4 bed house with an office attached (now 1 bed flat) then a "barn" attached to that (now a 2 bed house that I rent) and then an annex (now a "studio").

The guy renting the studio moved in the same day I did. This is the only property not attached to the other 3.

My property (2 bed house/converted "barn") is electric only and has storage heaters. I'm with EON.

All electricity meters are inside the main 4 bed house (which is also rented out).

My monthly payments to EON are £125.00 (to cover any extra usage... Or so I thought!)

After so many months/nearly a year with one letting agency, the landlord swapped to using another. The only way this effected me was who I paid my rent to.

One day, I contacted the agency for a meter reading (day/night/total). When I gave the info to EON to find out the current status of my bill, I was shocked to find that the account was in arrears by £840!!!

I raised concern with the letting agency who were also baffled! After a few days, the guy looking into the issue found the problem.. I've been paying for the electricity supply to the annex too!!

Turns out, the annex is on a sub meter that the landlord had fitted to my meter!
I was never informed of this and it isn't in either of our contracts! When the meter readings were being supplied by both letting agencies, neither one advised me of this and only ever gave me readings for the main meter!!
I only found out about the sub meter in May 2015, over a year after moving in!!

EON were not aware of a sub meter either!