PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Barbeque ideas please!

Options
forevershopping
forevershopping Posts: 81 Forumite
edited 12 July 2011 at 6:30PM in Old style MoneySaving
Hello,
I am having a BBQ adult party in may, does anyone have any tips on food, drink, garden, lighting, seating, ect.
I have never done a BBQ party before and would be gratefull for any ideas
Thankyou for your time :)

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments

• vanoonoo
    vanoonoo Posts: 1,897 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    mmmm

:)

how many people and what time of day you starting and finishing?

my suggestion would be to have a contingency plan incase the weather is poor and also make sure there is easy access to the toilet with floor covering to guard against muddy foot prints

keep the booze flowing and make sure the food is fully cooked (some people pre cook indoors and jsut finish off on the barbie (particularly chicken and sausages which both are harbourers of potential food poisoning)

dont leave too much stuff hanging around outside or uncovered for too long cos it could spoil or get contaminated (cant think of a less scarey word, sorry)

warn your neighbours, have enough seating for everyone both inside and out, have maybe a patio heater if its going into the night time (these can double as lights) and consider a gazebo type covering. most things can be begged or borrowed from friends neighbours and relatives.

get your guests to bring a bottle and if you like suggest they bring a dish too - someone could bring pasta salad, another bring rice salad, coleslaw, potato salad, fruit salad, caesar salad, salad salad