Mature student covering mortgage and bills on year abroad

I'm a mature student about to go on my year abroad in August 2015 and will be earning a basic salary to cover living costs. I have a mortgage and bills to pay in the UK, most of them in my name and my partner, who will be staying in the UK, can't afford to pay everything in my absence.
I'm not entitled to Erasmus funding and have a lot to pay out before I leave (visas, flights, insurance....)
Can anyone offer some good advice for how to reduce the UK bills with my providers whilst I am away or any general good advice about this topic? Thank you :)

(I can't find any topics on the forum covering this situation)

Comments

• agrinnall
    agrinnall Posts: 23,344 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    I think you'll need to explain more about which bills you feel could be reduced. Household bills, including mortgage, will still have to be paid regardless of who is in the household for the year. If you have other debts then there may be ways to reduce payments, but there may be consequences if you do.

Your mortgage is a possibility depending on whether it allows changes to be made to the term or payment amounts, or has the option of a payment holiday.
  • Hi agrinnall,
    I know I can't reduce my mortgage payments, but I have gas, electric, landline, BB, council tax etc. I don't have any CC debts.
  • cte1111
    cte1111 Posts: 7,390 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Is your partner staying in the UK and living in the house? Do you have children? I would think your best bet is getting lodgers to cover your share of the bills.
  • Yes, partner is staying here and living in the house (we share mortgage and bills down the middle). No kids, no space for a lodger and he wouldn't tolerate a stranger! I have some savings to cover my financial obligations here, but want to reduce the amount going out as much as possible.
  • cte1111
    cte1111 Posts: 7,390 Forumite