Dental Insurance Disscusion

Options

Comments

• Toothsmith
    Toothsmith Posts: 10,075 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    Having a general anaesthetic would increase the bill enormously.

I think you would be very lucky to find an insurance policy that woiuld cover this for routine dentistry - but I'm not an insurance expert.
    How to find a dentist.
    1. Get recommendations from friends/family/neighbours/etc.
    2. Once you have a short-list, VISIT the practices - dont just phone. Go on the pretext of getting a Practice Leaflet.
    3. Assess the helpfulness of the staff and the level of the facilities.
    4. Only book initial appointment when you find a place you are happy with.
  • ourkid
    ourkid Posts: 8 Forumite
    Options
    ok cheers for the adviced, shall probably ring around i think
  • balan
    balan Posts: 1 Newbie
    Options
    First of all, if you really want to save yourself a lot of money in the future, you must take preventative care with your teeth and gums.

streetdirectory com
    cazmeg wrote: »
    Has anyone got any recommendations for family dental insurance cover?
  • Ruthie5
    Ruthie5 Posts: 203 Forumite
    Options
    I've just joined a local dentist today that was recommended by a friend. Hadn't managed to register somewhere for a year after moving into the area, and am a bit of a phobic patient too.

This practice has their own scheme - they just call it Practice plan (not sure if this is a national thing?). You pay £11 per month, and get two check ups a year, dental hygeine work and xrays for free. Then the practice give you 20% discount off treatment. For example, a small filling would cost you £50 instead of the usual £63 and a crown would cost £280 instead of £350.