difference in blue badges

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Disability Money Matters
13 replies 2.2K views
lottyxxlottyxx Forumite
403 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Disability Money Matters
im quite new to having a blue badge and sometimes its quite confusing...in a local car park to me you can only park for free if you are tax exempt which im not...i dont mind paying ,but how would the traffic warden know ?? are the blue badges different in apperance? as we do not display tax now.

Replies

• Richie-from-the-BoroRichie-from-the-Boro Forumite
    6.9K Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    lottyxx wrote: »
    I'm quite new to having a blue badge and sometimes its quite confusing...in a local car park to me you can only park for free if you are tax exempt which I'm not...I don't mind paying ,but how would the traffic warden know ?? are the blue badges different in appearance? as we do not display tax now.

Blue badges are all the same ........ identical to look at.

Different local areas and differing areas of the country have different rules on paying and enforcing parking [i.e. Scotland / England] You seem to be confusing blue badge eligibility with VED exemption. A Certificate of Entitlement to Disability Living Allowance / PIP / AFIP entitles you free road tax providing the vehicle is only used for the benefit of the person with the exemption. The blue badge you display is nothing to do with road tax eligibility but it does contain all the information on the name / age / gender / address / etc of the blue badge holder.

Blue badge
    Road tax exemption
    you can only park for free if you are tax exempt

- never heard of this, let the group know what you mean

- millions of blue badge holders are VED [VEHICLE EXCISE DUTY] exempt with private non-motability cars
    - millions of blue badge holders are VED [VEHICLE EXCISE DUTY] exempt with motability cars