Ah right. :o

Even with 100% directorial liability?

See, I told you I was green!
    Save 12 k in 2018 challenge member #79
    Target 2018: 24k Jan 2018- £560 April £2670
  • Fatbritabroad
    Options
    stoozie1 wrote: »

I'm guessing as a newbie I should diversify across loans to start with, and start small?

There are 2 loans on the new loans tab, would I be best just taking a £200 punt on each until I'm more confident?

The secondary loans are a bit more worrying as I'm not sure why people are selling them!

From what I've written above you can see how 'green' I am!

What helped you stick a toe in?

Www.p2pforum.co.uk is a great area for info from people way better than me at due diligence etc.

For me I view p2p as high risk. Something akin to buying individual shares where risk of capital loss is very real so I will only out money in that I am happy to lose all of.

I just put a small amount in each loan generally 200 or less. You need to be careful as many are linked to the same company but it's fairly easy to find this using the other loans info on the due diligence and that will show what you have in that loan.

Re the secondary market don't be put off there at meany reason why people want to sell. Release of capital diversification or yes they may judt prefer the look of another loan. Doesn't mean they are right

The secondary market is your Friend as a new investor as you won't get any kind of sum invested without it for ages. It cost me about 45 quid in fees to get invested in every loan on the secondary market and ive made that back within 6 weeks. I'm now at a level where any of my major loans could default and I'm not oht of pocket.