sewing machine help needed - complete beginner - I give up

2»

Comments

• iammumtoone
    iammumtoone Posts: 6,377
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Forumite
    pennib wrote: »
    I would go for Guttermann as well. Good for you giving sewing a go.

Here is my latest make. Harry Hare, made from vintage cotton and then handpainted.

https://www.facebook.com/redthreadshed/photos/pcb.584258648385198/584257861718610/?type=1&theater

WOW you are very talented. How long did it take you to make?
  • iammumtoone
    Forumite
    I have been sewing very slowing and watching what happens.

After a few seconds the thread reel seems to spin making the thread untangle, if I stop straight way the machine stays threaded but the reel has started to unwind. Anyone any ideas?

Thanks
  • tanith
    tanith Posts: 8,091
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    You can take it into a shop and have it serviced , they will get it working for you and set all the tensions correctly , not sure how much it will cost but if it works could be worth it..
    #6 of the SKI-ers Club :j

"All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing" Edmund Burke
  • Mojisola
    Mojisola Posts: 35,547
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Can you see your machine here -
    http://gb.home-sewing.com/en_gb/catalogsearch/result/?q=classic&x=0&y=0

If so, download the instruction manual and work through that.

It sounds as if the tension isn't set right.

Also: http://sewing.about.com/od/sewingmachineindex/a/mtroubleshot.htm

Don't give up if you can't sort it out - ask around people you know and see if any of them are experienced sewers who will look at the machine for you.
  • iammumtoone
    Forumite
    edited 25 January 2015 at 11:20AM
    Thanks

I have the original manual, that came with it. Hence why I am sure I am threading it correctly.

Unfortunately I don't know anyone who sews who could help.