sewing machine help needed - complete beginner - I give up

iammumtoone
iammumtoone Posts: 6,377
First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
Forumite
edited 25 January 2015 at 10:23AM in Crafting
I have just treated myself to a sewing machine :j

Spotted it in a charity shop for £30 it's a toyota classic, no idea if that is a good price but I am happy as the money went to a good cause and I have always wanted to learn how to use one.

Can anyone recommend any good websites/books for complete beginners and I mean a complete beginner :o I have no idea where to start don't even know how to thread it. It did come with the original instructions but I suspect these would be written for someone who knows what they are doing!

Also any suggestions on the first (ie easiest) projects to try.

Thanks

Comments

• tootallulah
    tootallulah Posts: 2,197 Forumite
    Hi I would go to You Tube there are loads of "how to" videos there. You do need the instructions to see how to thread the machine and wind the bobbin but that should be pretty simple.
  • iammumtoone
    Forumite
    thank you I have looked at you tube and think I might just be able to thread it now :)

Next question is can anyone recommend what brands of threads are good to buy and where from? (told you I was a complete beginner :o). I don't want cheap ones as its going to be hard enough to learn without having to worrying about the thread keep breaking.

Can't wait to give it a try now. Any other tips that would help a beginner ie how do I sew straight, is it just practice?
  • p00hsticks
    p00hsticks Posts: 12,645
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Forumite
    edited 10 January 2015 at 7:37PM

Next question is can anyone recommend what brands of threads are good to buy and where from? (told you I was a complete beginner :o). I don't want cheap ones as its going to be hard enough to learn without having to worrying about the thread keep breaking.