STERLING isa.help and advice please

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
6 replies 6.8K views
smugbear2007smugbear2007 Forumite
51 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
i have £2600 in the stocks and shares ISA provided by sterling/zurich. when i signed up i was earning silly money and didnt care when i heard the words 4.75%charges. i just wanted to stick some money ANYWHERE where i wouldnt spend it as my MINIISA was full.
i get the feeling this is a load of tosh and im being screwed as ive seen no return on my wedge?...just a hunch.
i have 3000 in my Mini isa with HSBC and 4000 in there online saver. i have a 1k under the bed
total 10600
i also can save 250month.
i am a total savings noob and need some guidance.where should i stick my money and is the sterling isa a rip off?

i would need access to a couple of grand just as security but the rest 2-3 years. thanks
when the tide goes out we shall see who has been swimming naked

Replies

• EdInvestorEdInvestor
    15.7K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Oh dear. I think we've run across this one before. :(

Sterling ISA ripoff charges
    Trying to keep it simple...;)
  • dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    106.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Sterling ISAs have the ability to be set up with standard charges but do allow a second layer of charges if agreed. So, it would be wrong to assume that its being done on the high charge model. An initial charge of 4.75% would indicate a 3% commission being taken by the adviser. Not the double charging that Eds article suggests.

I have used them a couple of times due to the death guarantee they have but only on the standard 1% basis.
    as ive seen no return on my wedge?...
    When did you start it? Last March-May time was a bad time to start. Anytime this year really hasnt been that great either.

2-3 years is not suitable for investing like this. 5 should be your minimum.