The Other View on Compo Claims

edited 22 September 2014 at 7:15AM in Flight Delay Compensation
60 replies 3.5K views
SpannerMonkeySpannerMonkey Forumite
30 Posts
edited 22 September 2014 at 7:15AM in Flight Delay Compensation
I am an aircraft engineer and I work for an airline. My views however, are my own.

I want to give you some of the thoughts from the other side, and open some of your eyes to the reality of what you are doing.
I appreciate that many people feel anger when delayed, and I agree that ALL airlines should show care to their customers in these circumstances, but reflect for a moment on why you've been delayed. Also consider that the airline doesn't need the delay and does want to get you back on time; every delay causes serious headaches, and not just because of the inevitable compo claims. Crew duty times suffer, maintenance scheduling suffers, and the knock-on effects of these cause further problems
Often a delay is down to a technical issue which is where myself and my colleaugues come into the equation.

Ask yourself these questions:
1.Do you want to fly at 35000 ft in a machine that has something seriously wrong with it?
2.Do you want airlines to start taking a chance that it'll 'probably be ok' just to get you off the ground on time?
3.When your car breaks down the week after you had it serviced, is it your fault that a component malfunctioned because you didn't guess it would and had it replaced before it did?

You can believe me when I say that all aircraft have rigourous maintenance schedules, operators have learned through bitter experience to be double-safe, and then safer still. Effort and money goes into that. But still, like your car, things can and will just fail. And when they do, despite knowing that the compo claims are going to flood in, the airline shows the integrity required to say 'No, it's broken and we won't fly it again until it's fixed.'