mortgages and bad credit

Options
question_time_2
question_time_2 Posts: 2 Newbie
edited 20 August 2014 at 12:27PM in Credit file & ratings
Hi everyone,

First time poster, long time reader! I have a scenario that I would be very grateful for your opinions on.

The Background

I’m 29 years old and have recently started to consider the prospect of applying for mortgage with my fiancee. We have been living largely rent-free for the past five years in an apartment owned by my fiancees parents. As they are coming up to retirement, they have made the decision to gift ownership of the apartment to the two of us. The apartment is worth approximately £100k, and we have decided to explore the option of selling the property and using its value as a deposit for our first mortgage.

The Problem

My credit history is plagued by two large defaults that resulted from a combination of bad luck and my own irresponsibility when I was a student. In 2008 I was made redundant from my first job. I had an £8k car loan and a £2k overdraft that I subsequently defaulted on during the difficult months that followed. As a foolish 23 year old, I buried my head in the sand hoped the problem would go away. That was seven years ago.

In the case of the £2k overdraft, I changed banks shortly afterwards and started fresh. I never acknowledged the debt and avoided all chase calls and legal letters. The odd letter arrived at my parents’ house sporadically, but I have never opened them or engaged with the multitude of firms the debt has been sold to. The default is listed on my Experian report as early 2009.