Neon models modelling agency direct debit help!!!

Hi guys,

I'm currently a student. I always wanted to become a model so last month I applied to this modelling agency neon models. I was very surprised they called me the very next day saying I'm selected to become a model. I couldn't believe it. But then they asked me for a £50 deposit to come and visit their studios for a free photoshoot. When I asked them they said it is free but after the photoshoot they asked me £899 for a portfolio. I'm a student and I dont have that kind of money but after pushing me for a long time the sales person offered me a package for £500 and we setup a direct debit to pay £50 every month for 9 months (minus my £50 booking fee) but right now I'm going through a really bad times and having to pay bills I'm finding it very hard to pay this money. I called their studios (krypton studios) and they said I have to pay or my credit will be messedup by debit collection. I'm so upset over this and earn very little money. I know i was stupid to sign up to this? Has anyone been through this situation before? How can i cancel this? I'm worried this might ruin my future. Has anyone been through the same situation before with neon models in london? :o:o:o:o

Comments

• Gingernutty
    Gingernutty Posts: 3,769 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    http://neonmodelsscam.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/neon-models-is-scam.html

No modelling agency should be taking fees to represent you "up front" - any money they make should be a 'cut' from the fees you earn from modelling work.

Sorry, I don't know about getting your money back.
    :huh: Don't know what I'm doing, but doing it anyway... :huh:
  • CKhalvashi
    CKhalvashi Posts: 12,056 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    As GN says.

I don't strictly work in modelling, but we share a model of paying everything, then taking a commission from profit afterwards.
    💙💛 💔
  • pinkshoes