Is this a good quote for Solar?

Options

Comments

• mac2008
    mac2008 Posts: 266 Forumite
    Options
    JimLad wrote: »
    My neighbor came around at the weekend, the one opposite me who already has solar panels, and he was telling me how they cabled in his system. It turns out there is a boxed in drain that runs down the corner of my bathroom and then down through my hallway where the fusebox is. In his house they routed the cable down inside the boxing so hopefully they can do the same at mine and we can avoid the cable on the outside of the house :-)

Looking forward to the guy coming to do the survey on wednesday night now! Want to get them in ASAP to make the most of the last weeks of summer

I'm not an electrician, so happy to be told otherwise, but I still think technically you should not have unsecured cables in cavities. Also if a new build, you might have a job fishing the cable through anyway, as there could be insulation or fire breaks in there (the latter of which would need reinstating).

Although, if your neighbour has had this done, perhaps this is OK. Sounds like a neat solution if it is possible. If not, I would not worry too much about an external cable if tucked by a drainpipe anyway.

Best of luck - hope all goes smoothly!
    My PV system: South West England, 10x 250Wp Trina Solar panels, Fronius Inverter, South facing roof, 35° pitch with no shading.
  • silverwhistle
    silverwhistle Posts: 3,796 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    edited 21 July 2014 at 11:01PM
    Options
    With the rising cost of electricity and gas too its only going to get better!

Im impressed that you can get away with no gas hot water at all. I will try it but i recon the early morning showers wont be hot enough.

In the interests of full disclosure, I'm single and the shower is electric. But the total energy figures are genuine..;)
  • JimLad
    JimLad Posts: 950 Forumite