PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.
🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Side veg?

Options
I seem to have got a few set side veg that I have been making for 25+ years - I think I need to branch out lol!

Currently it odds on I will serve:
Potatoes mashed or roasted
Carrots glazed in sugar and butter
Cauli cheese
Baked beans
Tinned sweetcorn

Very occasionally I will do roast parsnips.

Any ideas for me to try?

Comments

• wondercollie
    wondercollie Posts: 1,591 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Frozen mixed veg?

saut!ed spinach with bacon and onion
  • maman
    maman Posts: 28,692 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I seem to have got a few set side veg that I have been making for 25+ years - I think I need to branch out lol!

Cauli cheese
    Baked beans
    Tinned sweetcorn

Any ideas for me to try?

Why no green veg?

I regularly do cabbage (various types) and love runner beans and broad beans when in season. Carrot and parsnip mash or carrot and swede mash is good. I've made a huge pot of red cabbage with apple and onion and frozen that in portions. I frequently do tomatoes and mushrooms and fried onions to go with steaks and burgers. And what about peas including mushy peas? That's just the basic everyday stuff.
  • Auntie_Sceb
    Auntie_Sceb Posts: 161 Forumite