Fruit bushes/canes in Wilkinsons?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
20 replies 2.4K views
Kevie192Kevie192 Forumite
1.1K Posts
✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Greenfingered MoneySaving
Hi all,

After a little bit of advice. I am a complete gardening novice so apologise in advance if I say anything stupid!

We have a spare raised bed and I would like to turn it into a fruit/veg section. We love raspberries so I was looking in Wilkinsons today and saw some in there. 3 canes in a pot for £4.50.

Are these going to be any good or just a waste of time? How many will I need to get a half decent crop in future years? Was thinking of perhaps two pots of an early variety and two of a late but not if only 2 will mean a tiny crop twice a year!

I would also like to put a few strawberry plants, a couple of rhubarb crowns and potentially some gooseberry bushes I also saw in Wilkinsons. Can you foresee any problems with this?

Thanks for any help you can give :)

Kevin

Replies

• wallbashwallbash
    17.8K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I started with six canes three years ago, Autumn Bliss, They soon multiply.
    Mine have grown very quickly in the past three weeks, so don't delay.

How big is the raised bed,you are a little ambitious space wise.
    Rhubarb will grow anywhere
  • Kevie192Kevie192 Forumite
    1.1K Posts
    ✭✭✭
    OK, so two of each sounds ok then... I think the bed is about 1.5m x 1m or something similar. I can ditch the rhubarb out of there and put it somewhere else, that's not a problem.

My idea was to put the canes across the back against the fence, the strawberries along the front (perhaps encourage them to trail?!) and the gooseberries in the middle somewhere, though thinking about it the spines on them might stop me getting to the raspberries... Hmm...

Kevin
  • FarwayFarway Forumite
    10.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭