We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Industrial Injury Disablement Benefit (IIDB) Medical - how long for a decision?

Options
Clairebear36_2
Clairebear36_2 Posts: 7 Forumite
edited 23 April 2014 at 10:27PM in Benefits & tax credits
Hello everyone,

I hope I am posting this in the right place as I am a newbie.

I had an accident at work before Christmas when I slipped on water and damaged my knee. Initially it appeared it be muscle and ligament damage but it now looks like the cartilage is tore and I will most likely need surgery. I have had an MRI scan but am still waiting the results. I have an appointment to see an orthopaedic surgeon at the end of this month.

I have been off work since the accident and at the time was advised by someone from my union that I should apply for IIDB as soon as possible so that I would get everything I was entitled to. I was a bit hesitant about this at first due to receiving sick pay and because I knew that in the grand scheme of things my accident wasn't as serious compared to what some other people endure. Also, I wasn't sure if my injury would be a short term problem or lead to longer term issues. After some thought, I decided to apply. I reckoned that if I wasn't entitled to it then that would be decided at the medical and by DWP staff. The main reason that I decided to go ahead was in case my injury led to more serious problems in the future and I would perhaps need to be reassessed at a further time.