CC debt from 2003 is haunting me forever

Options
cc321
cc321 Posts: 30 Forumite
edited 3 April 2014 at 9:00PM in Debt-free wannabe
Hello friends, I am looking for advice and the more I read through these posts the higher my anxiety rises.

If I could haev some assistance in directing me to other threads I would appreciate it. I am not very good at navigating message boards!

Here is my story, I'll leave out as much of the how's and the why's because they will only serve to make me feel better about myself and are not neccessary to give you the facts...but if it helps you think kindl of me I can include them later

In 2003 I had 1 Barclays CC and 1 Egg CC. I got into debt I have no idea how much at this time. I remember that I consolidated my debt into an egg loan for 10000. Somehow I still had debt on the Barclaycard.

I spent the next couple of years paying only the interest and seeing no light at the end, could nt continue to pay (the dollar/gb exchange rate ouch)

By 2006/2008 I was using cccs and they were helping me to make one payment and stop interest. I am not sure why that arrangement ended.

In 2009, I was determined to get everything under control. Barclaycard offer to put the debt back on a cc for me and that I could pay 1 % interest on it of which I declined. Egg had sent their file to Lowell who started sending me letters so I started a payment plan.

In 2012, I contacted Lowell and said I wanted to make some arrangements. They would not accept my monthly offer so that hit a dead end and I have not spoken to them since.

Through all of this, I have no idea what I am actually paying for and how much I owe or what is fees and what it interest.

At this point, I believe the figures are between 3-4K each for both creditors at least that is what the creditors are saying but I have no clue.