My first credit card

Options
Hi, I am new to the forum, and pretty much new to the concept of credit cards!

Me and my wife are likely going to get a mortgage in the next 2-3 years or so and neither of us have ever had a credit card (CC) . This is clearly not good as we have not built up a credit score.

The purpose of the CC would simply be to build up a good credit rating and also gain as many extra perks as possible e.g. insurance, rewards etc. We owe no money ( outside of our student loans) and intend on paying of the balance of the CC immediately, i.e buy an item on it and then pay it of straight after (if this is indeed the best way to do it?). Therefore, whilst we obviously want lower APR and balance transfer values it is by no means the most important consideration

For context, we own a property (mortgage free) which we rent out; I am 30 my wife is 28; I am a research scientist (permanent contract) and my wife is a teacher (permanent contract); our joint salary is ~55k - me ~30 my wife ~25); we have traveled a lot (doing our masters, PhD's etc) and therefore have never lived in the same house for more than 3 years.

Given all of the above i would be very grateful if anyone on this board could recommend a current deal or highlight the types of things i should be looking out for given our aforementioned proposed use of the card and our personal situation.

Chris

Comments

• grumbler
    grumbler Posts: 58,629 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    edited 13 February 2014 at 12:42PM
    Options
    cmcowen wrote: »
    ...We owe no money ( outside of our student loans) and intend on paying of the balance of the CC immediately, i.e buy an item on it and then pay it of straight after (if this is indeed the best way to do it?).
    If you use a CC for purchases only, then you have about 20 days after a statement is produced to pay it off without incurring any interest. The best way to do this is to set up a DD for full payment.