paying in euros with a card

Options
I have used my credit card to pay for something in Turkey and I was asked if I wanted the charge in sterling or Lira. In sterling I only paid the amount of the bill and no extra charge for being in Turkey but I have just made a payment in Euros and had a £32 charge put on my bill. What is the best way to pay in different currency to avoid a charge or to pay as little as possible?

Comments

• reclusive46
    reclusive46 Posts: 2,698 Forumite
    Options
    Your almost always better off paying in the local currency, even if your bank charges foreign transaction fees as the exchange rate on GBP transactions is usually awful.

Have a look at http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/travel/cheap-travel-money to see all the credit cards currently available that don't charge any fees abroad.
  • forgotmyname
    forgotmyname Posts: 32,572 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I have a prepay master card (Kalixa) I paid for something i euros recently and it worked out cheaper than using ebay with no extra charges.

Card cost nothing also found a link on here or the moneysupermarket site?

Originally i got it for the kids to have emergency money without carrying money.
    Censorship Reigns Supreme in Troll City...

• zerog
    zerog Posts: 2,478 Forumite
    Options
    I have a prepay master card (Kalixa) I paid for something i euros recently and it worked out cheaper than using ebay with no extra charges.

As paypal uses DCC (and it is difficult or non-obvious where you need to click to opt out), even a 3% charge will be cheaper than "ebay"
  • lisyloo
    lisyloo Posts: 29,636 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    It's pretty much always cheaper to pay in the foreign currency.
    This is because what your UK bank or credit card company will charge you for converting the currency is almost always cheaper than what the shop in Turkey will charge you for that privilege.