Redundancy, going to be a carer...

Options
Hi. I do not know where to turn really for advice at the moment on this so I thought I would put in here just in case anyone has had similar to advise me. OK, here goes. :cheesy:

I have been working for this company for 16 years and just before Christmas I got told that they wanted to get have rid of me (in certain terms), not by dismissal but by a "mutual agreement". They have done this because (being a carer at home) I have had to come home for crisis situations quite a few times in the past year [*about 9 this year] and have had to take telephone calls at work (again because of my caring responsibilities at home) and they feel that my duties (of caring) is interfering with my ability to fulfill my job role. (Personally I do not feel that but there you are), so they want to do this mutual agreement for me to leave the company.

Now I do have my reservations on all of this but I do not want to work for a company that does not want to help me no longer (and they have been quite supportive before in the past).. However an mutual agreement is a voluntary thing and if I leave that way I will not be able to claim my mortgage though my insurance that I have paid for years upon years. They have agreed to let me go via redundancy (without specifying voluntary) and I can now claim carers allowance as there is no way I could get another job as my care responsibilities at home are great (which I have now applied for). The person I care for claims ESA - Support Group and DLA (Middle Rate).