Not registered keeper!!

Just had a letter from Northampton court saying the case is now going to be heard .
The private parking company who gave me a ticket did not get my details from DVLA which they added £40 to the parking charge for!
I know this because when I tried to tax the car after 6 months but could not find the v11(?) form I contacted DVLA and they confirmed the garage I bought the car from had not sent in the details yet!!
I refused to pay the private company as they had not followed the rules but will the court listen to me?

Replies

• Lots of people looking but no replies.
    Maybe I'm not good at explaining.
    The private company got my name and address from some other agency than DVLA. I don't know who that could be?
    At the time of the offence I was not according to DVLA the registered owner or keeper.
    If I send the logbook showing the date I did become the registered keeper 6 months after the offence to the court will they drop it?
    Please give me some feedback even if it is that I will have to pay!
  • Coupon-madCoupon-mad
    100.2K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    I expect they sent a Notice to Keeper to the old owner who sent them your details as new owner. That's normal and will NOT win as a court defence! No wonder the case is going ahead if you basically haven't bothered to properly defend this one - the PPC are picking you of as a victim and laughing at you. You MUST DEFEND IT PROPERLY.

Tell us who the PPC is (ParkingEye?) and dates of all letters starting with the PCN.
    PRIVATE 'PCN'? DON'T PAY BUT DON'T IGNORE IT (except N.Ireland).
    CLICK at the top of this/any page where it says:
    Forum Home»Motoring»Parking Tickets Fines & Parking - read the NEWBIES THREAD
  • The_Slithy_ToveThe_Slithy_Tove Forumite
    3.9K Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭