Storage heaters - should they be left on all the time?

I'm completely new to storage heaters, and switched mine on for the first time on Monday. I'm on Off-Peak A tariff with Southern Electric, with 2 meters.

I was just wondering if the storage heater should be left on all the time, or if I should switch it off during the day? The instruction manual didn't make it very clear. Having done a bit of research, I think it should be left on all the time as, due to the way it's wired to the 2 meters, it only starts charging when the cheaper rate kicks in.

But I'm worried about doing this as the electrician seemed to think it needs to be manually switched on and off. His English wasn't great, though, so he may not have understood my question. The neon light at the wall also seems to stay on all the time.

Can anyone give me any advice? Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere.

Comments

• MrBrindle
    MrBrindle Posts: 355 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker