Complete novice to stocks and shares ISAs

Options
I have put the maximum annual amount in this years cash ISA. I have other savings getting pretty poor interest rates. I have owned shares in the past and still have some Santander ones (not in an ISA). I got my fingers burned when the stock market crashed (too many Alliance and Leicester ones!) so am risk averse. However, interest rates are so dire at the moment that I have considered investing in a stocks and shares ISA. Other than knowing the annual limit, I think (is it £5760?) I don't know a great deal about them. Can anyone advise or point me to a good source of info please.

Thanks in advance for any replies.
3 stone down, 3 more to go

Comments

• BLB53
    BLB53 Posts: 1,583 Forumite
    Options
    Its fairly easy to open a S&S ISA a/c with an online broker - I use Sippdeal but there are lots to choose from.

If you are investing for income, you could consider 2 or 3 investment trusts which will give you around 4% at current prices - most pay out quarterly. I have City of London, Temple Bar, Edinburgh and Murray International.

For more reading visit https://www.monevator.com and https://www.diyinvestoruk.blogspot.co.uk/

You are correct - £5,760 is the limit if you have put money into a cash ISA (you can put £11,520 into a S&S ISA if you haven't subscribed to a cash ISA).
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,371 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I got my fingers burned when the stock market crashed (too many Alliance and Leicester ones!) so am risk averse.

Or writing that another way, you invested badly before by using high risk investments and lacking diversification. It isn't that it should make you averse to risk. It should make you more careful in future to not make the same mistakes. Investing above you risk profile and investing badly is a common DIY error for inexperienced investors. So, you are not alone.