Business banking charges

Options
Can somebody please explain to me why and HOW banks can get away with charging people with business bank accounts extortionate amounts for putting in a cheque or even depositing and withdrawing MY OWN MONEY.
Also they charge a monthly fee JUST FOR THE PRIVALEGE of having a business bank account.
I am a sole trader and didnt want a business bank account but the bank HSBC strongarmed me into getting one as doing business transactions through personal account they did not like EVEN THOUGH IT IS LEGAL.
If i worked for a company instead of myself and i get my monthly wage paid into my personal account each month, i do not get charged at all, So why does a business account get charged for all these things for the exact same use a personal account is used for but they get paid by a company instead of getting paid by customers. I just do not understand why they are allowed to do this when it is not a legal requirement to have a business bank acoount.
Yet they charge the earth for paying in a cheque, £1,30 PER CHEQUE. And a monthly fee just for the pleasure of using their account. Can someone please explain this to me? I am dumbfounded.

Comments

• dr_adidas01
    dr_adidas01 Posts: 2,136 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    They can do it as you agreed to these charges when you signed on the dotted line to open the account.

If you didn't like these charges then you shouldn't have opened the account. Most Banks charge for having a business account so you wont escape being charged for something.

Banking is mostly free to personal customers because they only use it to do everyday things.

Business customers usually require more services i.e. accepting and sending payments to customers via bac's services or direct debits all of this costs the bank time and money and this is then passed on you as a business cost.