LED Light Bulbs

Options
atlantis187
atlantis187 Posts: 1,444 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary
I am looking at replacing our light bulbs in the house mainly in the living room and kitchen.

I am a proper novice in these matters so please be patient,

At present I think the bulbs in the kitchen are the GU10 make and in the LR they are the small screw edison edition i think. I bought some cheap make standard bulbs from ebay about 1 years ago and they seem to be blowing every other month.

Are LED the best way to go?
How long do LED bulbs last?
Could u please post me a few links with reccomendation where I could buy these 2 particular bulbs from cheaply.

At the moment the standard bulbs I am using are 40W and 60W. Does the LED bulbs need to be the same or can I use 2W or 3W bulbs for example?

Thank You

Comments

• Andy_WSM
    Andy_WSM Posts: 2,217 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Uniform Washer Rampant Recycler
    Options
    LED bulbs are much more economical to run than standard bulbs or even compact flourescent. Last year I replaced the 9 * 60W ES Floodlights in my living room which are recessed into the ceiling with 9 * 6W LED bulbs from eBay, which cost me about £5 each. A £45 "investment", but I have little doubt that it will be paid back in full soon, if not already. The light output is comparable and I haven't had a bulb blow yet.

When you are looking around for them you really need to balance appearance with price and find a suitable match for yourself as there are so many different ones on the market.
  • penrhyn
    penrhyn Posts: 15,215 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I've used an number of these from the long life lamp company, work very well, no duds yet and pleasant colour temperature.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Long-Life-Lamp-Company-replacements/dp/B006UR5IUY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372233208&sr=8-1&keywords=5watt+gu10
    That gum you like is coming back in style.
  • Buzby
    Buzby Posts: 8,275 Forumite