Urgent help, why have I been refused this?

edited 23 May 2013 at 9:44PM in Flight delay compensation
6 replies 770 views
Kieran_BrentonKieran_Brenton Forumite
4 Posts
edited 23 May 2013 at 9:44PM in Flight delay compensation
Hi, I'm new to this but basically I'm having the same problem.

My flight back from JFK-New York to London-Heathrow on the 8th of February was delayed.

This flight arrived 4 hours 15 minutes late at London Heathrow.
The judgement of the Court of Justice of the European Union in Tui & others v CAA confirmed the applicability of compensation for delay as set out in the sturgeon case.
I am seeking compensation under EC Regulation 261/2004 for this delayed flight.

My scheduled flight length was 5540 kilometres; therefore I am seeking €600 Euros.

It was delayed firstly due to weather which I accept and the secondly because the pilot fell sick, they had to send out another pilot and had to allow rest time. Basically other people that I traveled with claimed and have received compensation from this and they are refusing to pay mine, they offered me £300 in eVouchers which I'm not willing to accept. They said:

"delayed due to flight crew sickness and the time taken for the replacement flight crew to take their legal rest time after the inbound flight. We take reasonable measures to avoid this by over-rostering crew by 20% at London Gatwick and our hub, London Heathrow, to cover this type of situation. However it is not possible to do this at our outstations such as New York. This situation is regrettable but it is an extraordinary circumstance. In such instances we are not liable for delay compensation payments under EU legislation.