'Glut of savings the fundamental cause..'

... of pension problems.
People starting a job in their 20s today should expect to work until they are 75, argues the former chief economic adviser to the Confederation of British Industry.

He will say: "To retire at close to the standard of living that they have previously enjoyed, they will have to extend their working life and cut their number of years of retirement by working till they are much older. Workers could save more. But they are unlikely to do so and if they did so around the world, they would only add to the glut of savings that is a fundamental cause of the problem."

It's from an article in The [Glasgow] Herald
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/workers-facing-retirement-at-75-x.20374515

I don't know much about the savings and investments markets as I'm new to both really but this statement is astounding.

Do I buy a large box and stick my money in that? (just a rhetorical question).

Comments

• atush
    atush Posts: 18,726 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    There isn't a glut of savings here in the UK (and I suspect the developed world).

There is a glut of cheap money in the markets due to QE and funding for lending.

Improve your reading choices?

Save 6-12 months spending in cash, and invest the rest for growth. Use your ISA allowances, open a pension.
  • It may very well be the case that as an aggregate we cannot save our way out of this crisis. The reason for this is because an increase in savings reduces the demand that firms face and so they are less likely to expand. Low investment at the moment is probably a result of weak and uncertain demand as much as poor availability of credit.

An individual can increase their savings as they might represent only a billionth of demand for marketable goods(I have assumed here in blighty we have about 7 or 8 times the average worldwide income).