Car wrote off but still on finance not my fault...

Options
Right I am new to this and it is a long story but I shall explain it all so the advice I gain will be more relevant so here goes.

In February I bought a car from Arnold Clark on finance around the value of £8288. Great no problems got the VRI and everything but by November I had that many problems with it, It had become so unreliable I had to get rid and when the fan belt snapped that was the end.

So I went back to Arnold Clark spoke to them about the situation and ended up buying another car for around £7000 however finance was harder to get as I had negative equity and no doubt my monthly payments would go up but in order to get finance I had to take the extras off such as VRI and warranty which wasn't a problem at the time.

My payments were going to go up and I thought I just had to get on with it which wasn't a problem.

However on friday at a hotels car park possibly due to the snow a tree collapsed and fell onto my car crushing it.

I phoned my insurance and they have recovered it and took it to their first garage declaring it a total loss they have now taken it to a second place to make sure it is a total loss.

In this time they have done nothing to attempt to claim from the property's insurance ? So I had to pass on the details to my insurance and ask them to try too.

If my car is classed as a total loss I understand that they will write a check for my vehicle per accident minus my excess and pass this on to my finance company. However this could be around £6000 or less when the the total finance amount in September was £9995. So I will be demanded to pay £4000 I don't have hence getting the Car on finance. And my next insurance quote will be sky high.

I am only 20 and am a a student at Uni without the access to this sort of money.

Anyone any experience or knowledge, sorry for the long story.

Comments

• Idiophreak
    Idiophreak Posts: 12,024 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post