Balancing not just the budget

Options

Comments

• EssexHebridean
    Options

I'm beginning to think I should be just as careful how I spend my time as my money :think: :idea:

One of the best lines ever seen on here IMO. That's one of the things I've had to learn as we've got more financially stable - that sometimes my time is of as much value as making a small saving on something. So yes, I won't pay someone to do stuff I can easily and quickly do, but for things that take longer, or that I'm not good at (prepping and painting woodwork - prime example!) I will indeed pay a professional to do it for me.
    🎉 MORTGAGE FREE (First time!) 30/09/2016 🎉 And now we go again…New mortgage taken 01/09/23 🏡
    Balance as at 01/09/23 = £115,000.00
    Balance as at 31/12/23 = £112,000.00
    SOA CALCULATOR (for DFW newbies): SOA Calculator
    she/her
  • doingitanyway
    Options
    I agree with both you Rosa and Essex on the being careful with your time issue.

As I approach DF I know some of the things I do use lots of time and I will do less of them because I will be able to afford not to have to do them. For example I know I will cut down on YS shopping. I will also buy in regular help in the garden :)

Also I am thinking carefully about what I want to do in future. So, I could have a fully paid qualification in the New Year. I've started to think about whether I REALLY want to do it. The time is not so much of an issue as whether I need the qualification, or whether I have the confidence to let it go and start pushing for what I really want to do. In writing this I have answered my question as I will not be doing the course. I will be planning for my dream future instead.

Thanks for posting on this rosa it helped me clarify an issue :)
    If you have built castles in the air, your work should not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.

Solicitor/survey savings 300/1700
    Emergency fund 0/1000
    Buffer fund 0/200