Options
2»

Comments

• jamie11
    jamie11 Posts: 4,436 Forumite
    edited 5 December 2012 at 4:13PM
    Options
    _Andy_ wrote: »
    So, given that you're clearly the authority on the matter, why are you bothering posting here?

That's just it, I am not an expert or an authority. That's why I'm asking.
    robrooo wrote: »
    Didn't this story break in the Summer? Basically small to medium-sized businesses who wanted a loan from their bank were told they had also to take out a hedging swap (sometimes with a cap or collar) to protect themselves from interest rate changes.

Generally this type of instrument has a fixed interest leg and a variable leg, linked to LIBOR. The LIBOR flows cancel out the variable loan rate and leave you with a fixed rate loan. The cap and collar adds trigger rates at which the hedge rate comes into force.

But of course you pay a premium for the privilege of buying the swap/cap/collar, and maybe the rate that you "bought" was not as good as the natural rate you might have got with no hedge, especially as interest rates have been very low for some time.

There were also allegations that the hedge amount was often inflated compared to the loan; that clauses in the swap agreement allowed the bank to cancel the hedge at any time, but not the borrower; that the period of hedging was longer than the lifetime of the loan; thus the allegations of mis-selling.

That sums it up to a certain extent.

The deal I was given, I was quite happy with...until I asked for a figure to pay it off, I knew about the early repayment charge of 1% I had no problem with that but there were also some administration charges etc written into the contract, no figures, just a clause. When the figures were sent to me I found they wanted £30K more on top of their repayment.