Peer-to-peer lending sites: MSE guide discussion

Options

Comments

• bigadaj
    bigadaj Posts: 11,531 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    jamesd- apart of isa, do you use ltd company to lower your tax on investment earnings? what is your daily job tax level?

How does the limited company work?
  • jamesd
    jamesd Posts: 26,103 Forumite
    Options
    jamesd- apart of isa, do you use ltd company to lower your tax on investment earnings? what is your daily job tax level?
    No. I have considered it to allow higher pension contributions after retiring. I don't have income tax to pay at higher or top rate because I use high pension contributions and VCT buying to reduce my income tax bill to only a few hundred Pounds a year.
  • elephantrosie
    Options
    what is VCT?
    Another night of thankfulness.
  • gingercordial
    Options
    Pentirebob wrote: »
    I'm new to all this forum thing, so not sure if I'm "in the right place". If I'm not, please advise where I'm best able to get the information I'm looking for.
    I'm looking to invest in a start-up that is raising funds via Crowdcube.
    Has anybody had any experience of this operation?
    Thanks and regards,
    Bob
    <><

I've used Crowdcube several times for investments in shares and corporate mini-bonds. I can confirm the process seems to work well in terms of them taking the investment and issuing share certificates. For my bonds, I have received all interest payments on time plus a tax certificate e-mailed out promptly for each payment. I also received EIS certificates where appropriate although some were faster than others.

I have not (thankfully) experienced anything going sour yet so I cannot comment on how they would handle that.

One of my share investments was bought out and again communications were good and the sale proceeds came through in the stated timescale.