Is my water bill too high?

Hi everyone, newbie here :)

I've been living away from home for 12 months now (I'm a student in Manchester) and just worked out that my first yearly water bill (I'm charged quarterly) is £437. My most recent quarterly bill was £116.45!

There's three of us living in a flat and don't use that much water (one shower per day, washing up, 2 washing machine loads a week). This seems a bit high? Or is this normal?

United Utilities are our provider, but it's all done by our apartment block management (they read meters and tell UU, we don't get to see our own meters!). The bills have a breakdown of everything and the prices per unit/standing charge are the same as on the UU website, but still the bill just seems too high.

Am I being naive in hoping it would be cheaper?

Comments

• Cavemanu
    Cavemanu Posts: 63 Forumite
    edited 21 November 2012 at 5:04PM
    hi there,

We have a water meter and our most recent 6 monthly bill last week was £108 (Severn-Trent), that is for 2 of us. We try to be careful with water usage (no watering garden except with rainwater, no car washing) but we are still working on it.

All water companies websites seem to have water calculators to help people to work out how much water they use - suggest you try one out, with some input from your flatmates!

Apparently toilets seem to contribute a large % of water use in a residential situation (in terms of number of people & frequency of use). We have low water use dual flush toilets.

If you have a single type flush/older type loo worth thinking about getting those free HIPPO gel sachets from your water company to put in the cistern of the loo to reduce the amount of water flushing away.

Also, not sure how long you have lived in the flat, be careful you have not inherited a water 'debt' incurred by previous tenants. That happened to us once, and we had to ask the water company to recalculate our use, based on recent actuals.