New Post Advanced Search

Travel Money & Japan

9 replies 2.7K views
w.footew.foote Forumite
4 posts
Hi guys,

I was wondering if anyone had advice on finding the best rates for travel money, and what form I should take it in, i.e. travellers cheques or cash or just take my credit/bank cards?

My trip to Japan in the summer takes me via Amsterdam, by any chance would changing my money in Amsterdam be any cheaper?

Finally, any money saving tips for Japan? I'm a student, going for two weeks in July, hopefully visiting Kyoto, Hiroshima and Mt Fuji and Tokyo obviously, so will probably get the JR Rail Pass before I go. Still need to find cheap accommodation.

Thanks!

Will

Replies

• A piece of advice I was given about travelling to Japan is that many places only take cash. Now, I'm not entirely sure how true that piece of advice is, since I was only in Tokyo but it could be the case outside of the larger city areas.

Enjoy the trip - it's a great place. :)
    "Who throws a shoe, honestly?"
    :rotfl:
  • I've heard similar myself, thanks! However I obviously don't want to carry several £1000s in cash, will travellers cheques work over there?
  • lynzpowerlynzpower Forumite
    25.3K posts
    10,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    you can draw money out of cash machines.

IM trying to remember what I had. I think I just took cash with me, in yen and dollars and drew it out at the wall.

Whether this is good value I dont know but that was before I WAS a moneysaver!

they do take trav cheques tho, but take USD ones not stirling as people do seem to get confused IME with sterling TCs
    :beer: Well aint funny how its the little things in life that mean the most? Not where you live, the car you drive or the price tag on your clothes.
    Theres no dollar sign on piece of mind
    This Ive come to know...
    So if you agree have a drink with me, raise your glasses for a toast :beer: