Ask a StepChange (formerly CCCS) counsellor a bankruptcy question

Options

Comments

• StepChange_Allen
    StepChange_Allen Posts: 352 Organisation Representative
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    fridge1987 wrote: »
    hi just after a but of advice.i am bankrupt due to gambling when i get really low due to a mental disorder.was put on nt code and took so long befor receiver sorted the payments .my mrs waled out with kids and i went that bad place and spent the nt tax money.im writing to confess my sins to OR .im pleadin as gesture to do all overtime i can so i pay more in tax and ipa over coming months ..just wondered what will happen.legal action? a huge smack on wrist or what.any advice appreciated

Hello there

I have replied to your private message asking this question, I hope that's okay.

Allen
    I work as a debt advisor for StepChange Debt Charity and have specific permission from Martin to post on these boards to try and help those in debt. Read more information on StepChange Debt Charity in the Debt Problems: What to do and where to get help article. If you find you're struggling with debt and you need further help try our online advice facility Debt Remedy.

Don't be afraid of getting debt advice. We'll help you take one more step towards getting help with your debt.
  • fridge1987
    Options
    hi i dont have any private messages at the moment.... thanks though
  • SnowL
    SnowL Posts: 45 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Anniversary I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    Evening,

My parter was declared bankrupt in July last year and has been on universal credit since March 2016. He's just secured a job with a start date in February. I've read online about the NT tax code but don't understand, will he get paid and have to submit a refreshed SOA to OR or do they work out the figure for him?

Thanks in advance
  • Former_StepChange_Richard
    Former_StepChange_Richard Posts: 119 Organisation Representative
    Options