PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Anyone convert an OH who is/was non OS ?

Options

Comments

• gizmoleeds
    gizmoleeds Posts: 2,232 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I am an appalling cook, but find pasta is generally rather easy - try him with pasta with pesto to start. There is nothing to it really - boil the pasta and stir in the pesto.
  • arkonite_babe
    Options
    Chicken and broccoli bake? My daughter can make this and she's 12. Really easy and really tasty too, especially quick if you use the cheats white sauce.

Let us know how you get on.
  • Gingham_Ribbon
    Gingham_Ribbon Posts: 31,520 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    You can buy pizza bases in most supermarkets. If they are in the freezer, it's a doddle to prepare a tasty meal. In a rush, I'd use some tinned chopped tomato for a base sauce (it's better with garlic, herbs etc but not essential) I like to top with sliced mushroom, onion, pepper, olives, capers, pinenuts and I usually buy packets of balled mozzarella which take seconds to slice and add on top of the veg. (Or salami if he likes meat.) They only take about 10mins on 200 degrees.

A REALLY quick meal for when I'm desperate is simply pasta with a chopped chilli and a clove of garlic fried in some olive oil. Toss the pasta in the chilli oil and grate some parmesan over. I really think a decent extra virgin oil is important though, but it's still much cheaper than a prepackaged meal.

You can use the pizza bases to make garlic bread too. Just mash some crushed garlic into a chunk of butter with some dried parsley and spread it over. You can add passata or mozzarella or both.