PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

Would this be over stretching or safe enough?

Options
Hi, newbie here.

We are offering on a house at £250k, which is the top of our agreed budget. I was just hoping for some second opinions about how do-able the finances will be.

We are in our late 20s, married with a new baby. I gross around £30k and my wife was on about £33k before maternity leave. She will be going back to work in 4 months, at the very least for half the salary part time at £16.5k, but a full time job is open to her. We have both fully cleared our student loans and both pay into final salary pension schemes.

Our joint net take home from our jobs would therefore be around either £3,700 if my wife goes back full time, or £3,050 if she goes back half time. In addition, we get £88 a month from the basic child benefit payment. So monthly take home is either around £3,138 or £3788.