Long Term Saving

Options
Hi, I have been saving for 15 years in a sun life monthly savings scheme which is due to finish in April. I want to start another one when this one finishes but Sun Life don't do them any more. Does anyone know of a similar long term savings account? I want to put away about £20 a month for 10 to 15 years. Thanks.

Comments

• bigfreddiel
    bigfreddiel Posts: 4,263 Forumite
    edited 29 August 2012 at 8:57PM
    Options
    if i were you i would try to scrape up at least £50/month, then open an equity isa and invest in a low cost uk all shares index tracker. a ter of .5% or less should be your target.

over 15 years paying more that .5% is a huge amount of money to spend

typical fees can be 1.5- 2.5% and that extra few percent in fees doesn't sound like much but is infact a huge amount to pay.
  • fiesta04
    fiesta04 Posts: 516 Forumite
    Options
    Hi, I have been saving for 15 years in a sun life monthly savings scheme which is due to finish in April. I want to start another one when this one finishes but Sun Life don't do them any more. Does anyone know of a similar long term savings account? I want to put away about £20 a month for 10 to 15 years. Thanks.

Before you think about a similar "savings scheme" do you know how much your current one will pay out?

On £20 monthly I would suggest find the best rate instant saver and fund that. You would probably have to move to a different account regularly to keep the best rates.

F4
  • Daniel_Elkington
    Options
    Don't invest in a FTSE100 tracker, have you seen the returns that has been getting and the economic forecast for britain?

If you want to invest you need to examine your attitude to risk, more importantly your capacity for loss.