We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Overgrown garden - Where do i start?

I will be moving to a house next month and the old lady who lived there before had no interest in the garden. She let it overgrow so it looks like a jungle. The front hedge is almost as bad. I have a few plans for it. I would like a large shed and maybe grow some fruit and veg. But first i need to turn it from a jungle into a garden. She was there for seven years and never touched it so you can imagine the state its in. I have never done any gardening work before and i have no idea how to start. What tools will i need? Is it worth buying used tools? How do i level it for a shed (if necessary). All advice and tips gratefully appreciated.

Comments

• Mrs_Huggett
    Mrs_Huggett Posts: 377 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Firstly, is the front hedge privet? This can be cut back hard without hurting it too much, secondly do you know anything about plants at all? Is there a friend or family member who could come and have a look and advise you and let you know what is worth keeping, there may be nice shrubs and perennial plants that are in situ and would cost a lot to replace! I would get any lawned areas cut as once you have done that you will have a better idea, if there is bramble and bindweed then it will be a case of digging out the former and treating the latter with a good weedkiller.