Dog Sitting Charges

Options
I lost my dog recently and I am finding it very difficult. The house is empty without him and I miss the walks etc. I don't work so have lots of free time.

It's too soon for me to think about getting another dog so I thought about dog sitting. My dog used to go to dog sitters and he always seemed very happy with them.

My dog sitter worked through an agency and charged £20 a day with me supplying food, bowls, treats etc. A second dog would be £10 a day.

I thought as I was not working through an agency so all the charges would be mine and, although I have had quite a few dogs over the years, I am new to dog sitting I would charge £10 a day with a second dog being £5.

I did not think this extortionate as kennels charge more than that and having a dog in your own home it is going to get lots more time, attention walks etc.

Anyway I have had a fairly good response - I put an ad in the local paper - BUT all the prospective clients said I was charging too much so were not interested.

Yesterday a guy phoned who has 2 dogs ( quite a large breed and will definitely need grooming and quite a bit of exercise). We chatted for quite a while and he said he could tell I was a genuine dog lover and, subject obviously to meeting me and introducing his dogs to me, he would be happy for me to look after his dogs as he wanted them to go to a true animal lover not someone just interested in money. Fine, then he asked the price. He said it was too much and he was thinking £70 a week for the two dogs. I said that was a bit cheap, he wouldn't get a kennels for that price and probably not another dog sitter. Anyway he said it would be a regular thing - he works away from home one week a month.

Because I want to have dogs in my home and, of course, check that it is right for me, I said yes to £70.