Barclaycard - Half BT fees. To wait or snap up?

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to credit cards and BT, so basic advice welcome.

I've got around £4k on a Capital One card which is at 0% until October 2012. I also have a savings account with the same amount in - so affordability isn't an issue here.
My credit record is also good and I meet all the criteria for what I want to do.

In September, I had planned to look around and consider Balance Transferring to another 0% rate and hanging onto my money in the savings account (stoozing).

However, I've spotted Barclay's offer today where they are offering 1/2 rates for BT, down to 1.45% for 22mths. This strikes me as a really good deal.
http://www.barclaycard.co.uk/personal/credit-cards/platinum-balance-transfer

So, should I:
a) snap it up, BT across immediately. I lose 3mths of 0% with capital one, but these offers don't come around often. Stoozing.com says I should get £77, based on 22mths in a 3.1% account with basic tax and a 2.25% minimum payment.
b) hold fire for a few weeks. Barclaycard should be available until 9th August. I'll see what the competitors come out with - as they may beat it. The risk here is that it is taken off the table.
c) stick to my original plan. Enjoy the last 3mths of Capital One 0%, and then survey the market at that point.

I know this is just speculation (as I guess that no-one knows for sure), but I am hoping that those with experience can guide me with what has happened in the past.

Thanks,

Comments

• pete_
    pete_ Posts: 47 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Im also considering this - I have £3K with Tesco 0% ending in April next year.

For you I think the choice is easier - apply just before 9th August then you have up to 60 days to do the BT ... effectively you would not lose any interest if you time it right - unless im mistaken?

Can't decide what to do myself ... im sure I gain overall.