PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

make do and mend for tougher times

Options

Comments

• westcoastscot
    westcoastscot Posts: 1,404 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 1 September 2012 at 6:37PM
    Options
    Byatt wrote: »
    Thanks WCS, I'm hoping it will give me some long term options with which I can work around my health issues and tiredness, as well as support my DD emotinally still, and to be able to work in an area I would enjoy. I'm really glad I did my degree although it hasn't got me a job per se, it has given me a good background and helped my confidence. These days degrees aren't job openers as such, but they can be built on.

I started my degree when I was 47, finally got it this summer, and although it didn't lead to my current job it definitely gave me the confidence and impetus to apply for it - I hadn't worked for many years, being a sah mum. I do feel the benefit of it now I am working though, especially when talking to professionals in other areas.

I'm starting a masters later this month - i'm seeing it as insurance for if/when this job goes and I have to look for something else - also as my health issues worsen I'm hoping to earn a little more each hour to allow me to cut down the time I work a little.

Ooh just looking on the book people and I see the Garden Cottage Diaries is only £4 - a lovely book about a lady who lived as in former times.
  • pennib
    pennib Posts: 1,417 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    Options