ISA advice for complete newbie

Options
As I've never really had any money to save and just kept anything for bills, tax etc in an online easy access account I'm only just trying to make some sensible choices re ISAs.
My Self employed business has just pretty much gone under. I have a frugal amount to live on for about a year or so whilst I retrain and try to get into something else. I'd like to put some into an ISA. Having pored over this board and others am I right that this year twice the 5640.00 is allowed and if so can it be split between a cash ISA and the other half into Edinburgh investment trust via Hargreave and Lansdowne ISA? However I have just read some conflicting info which suggests it can only be 11280.00 if it's in stocks and shares. I don't want to do that.
I did buy and sell some stocks and shares in a small way many years ago but as a single parent money has always had to be accessible and I always put anything I could into paying off the mortgage so am now virtually mortgage free.
Any advice gratefully received and thanks for your patience but I can't afford to screw this up.
Living on Earth can be expensive, but it does include an annual free trip around the Sun.

Comments

• Scarpacci
    Scarpacci Posts: 1,017 Forumite
    Options
    £11,280 is the maximum allowed in either a Stocks and Shares ISA or combined in a Cash ISA and a Stocks and Shares ISA per tax year. £5,640 is the maximum allowed in a Cash ISA each year, provided you put no more than £5,640 in a S&S ISA. So you have a total limit of £11,280 which can either be split evenly between cash and S&S or allocated fully to S&S.