Financing for a large purchase (MacBook Pro Retina)

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of MoneySavingExpert but am starting to get my head around everything and hope to become a long standing member and share anything I find/discover as well as learning from the forums.

I am looking to buy the new MacBook Pro "intelligently" reducing the cost as much as possible. I have just started a reasonably well paid job and can (almost certainly - assuming I am not made redundant or become ill) payback the £2000 over 4/5 months say at £500 a month.

So far I have figured out the education program to bring the initial cost down and now I am looking at ways to "buy now and spread the payments" at a reduced cost and possibly 0% APR. I have been studying 0% APR for the first year style offers but there is always one clause that confuses me "0% APR on new purchases for up to 55 days if the balance is paid off each month".

What do you feel the cheapest (long term) ways are to reduce the cost? Either getting a loan upfront, exploiting credit, or signing up for student bank accounts with a 0% overdraft.

Currently I have only about £500 working capital to play with,

Pez,

Comments

• CLAPTON
    CLAPTON Posts: 41,865 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    1. you have 500 already, you can afford 500 per month so in 3 months you will 2,000

2. some credit cards offer 0% finance on purchase for a period (often 12 month); the reference to 55days is for the normal rules that apply after the prmotional period of 12 months runs out.

3. if you don't already have a CC then you may find it difficult to get your first card with 0% on purchases with a large enough credit limit.

4. why do you want a long term way of reducing the cost if you can clear it in 3 months?
  • Pezmc_2
    Pezmc_2 Posts: 7 Forumite
    1. This is true, but say something changes I would like some margin!